Pineapple Sausage Recipe Wanted

Recipes for all sausages

Pineapple Sausage Recipe Wanted

Postby sawhorseray » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:49 pm

I'm a newbie to this site, seems to be a world of information and passion for sausage making here. I process wild hogs I've hunted into sausage, usually some form of Italian mild or spicy, 50% domestic pork butt works well for me. I have quite a bit of dehydrated pineapple that I'd like to incorporate into a sausage, possibly with maple syrup or brown sugar. I searched the recipe section for "pineapple" and came up blank. Does anyone have a proven recipe that calls for pineapple they'd like to share? I'm set-up for fresh and smoked sausage options, any help will be greatly appreciated. RAY
sawhorseray
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:00 am

I couldn't believe it - there's a company that actually makes pineapple sausages!

http://www.evergoodfoods.com/products/a ... -pineapple

There's a breakdown of the ingredients:

http://www.evergoodfoods.com/products/a ... =pineapple

They may form a starting point for you?

HTH

Oh, welcome to the forum! :D :D

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby sawhorseray » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:38 am

I saw their sausage in a grocery store I was at the other day, that's what gave me the idea! They make their sausage in San francisco, my hometown and about 70 miles from where I live now. I found the info you sent on their website today, but they say nothing about the spices used other than just "spices". I'm tinkering with formulas and might try to process this recipe for a test batch next Monday, might put it in the smoker on Tuesday.

Pineapple Sausage

12&1/2-lbs ground pork
3-cups dried pineapple (rehydrated)
1-cup dry non-fat milk
5-tbsp salt
6-tbsp sugar (brown or white)
2 -tbsp white pepper
3/4-tsp pineapple flavoring
1&1/2-tsp allspice
1-tsp ginger
1-tsp nutmeg
½-tsp ground clove
2&1/2-tsp Instacure #1 (only if smoking)
Life is good!
sawhorseray
Registered Member