How to limit bacon shrinkage during frying

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

How to limit bacon shrinkage during frying

Postby beardedcook » Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:59 pm

Hi,
Beardedcook here, I have been making bacon using equilibrium brine for almost 2 years now.
Recently, one of my friend, whose restaurant I supplied complained to me that my bacon shrink much more during frying than bacon made by big factories in my country.

My methods is, after 7 days of brining, I leave the bacon uncovered in the fridge to form pellicle overnight. Then I let it adjust to room temperature for at least 1 hour. Then I hot smoke it for 6 hours until internal temperature of 65°C (150°F). After smoking, I let them cool down in air conditioned room until cool enough to the touch, wrap them and let them rest in the fridge overnight. The next day I slice my bacon at 2 mm (~1/13") slightly thicker than the standard of 1.56mm (1/16").

Anyone know why my bacon shrink more when pan fried? is there anything I can do during bacon making process to limit shrinkage during frying?

Thank You,
Beardedcook
beardedcook
Registered Member

Re: How to limit bacon shrinkage during frying

Postby ComradeQ » Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:26 pm

When brining you are forcing liquid into the meat. When it cooks there is a level of liquid that will be released. Try dry curing instead, you will not have that problem at all with dry cured bacon.
ComradeQ
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:09 am

Firstly, I don't see how 7 days brining can be an equilibrium brine. Maybe it's just the terminology you've used?

Before I comment further, please post more detail of the brining process.

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby beardedcook » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:43 am