Immersion Cures

Recipes and techniques using brine.

Immersion Cures

Postby PepperPig » Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:47 pm

Hi There,

As a newbie I have been reading your forum with great interest and I am still confused in some parts and will probably bombard you all with various random questions over the next few months!

Firstly, I am looking for an immersion cure for bacon that does not require pumping!
I would like to make bacon rashers that appear to be quite rare or even non-existent nowadays, collar bacon and what we used to call oyster bacon!

What I am trying to get my head round is:

A, The calculation for the brine?

B, The rate of degradation of nitrite as with no pumping, curing times would be longer and maturing time would be required to firm up the joint for slicing?

Could any of you wonderful chaps help?
PepperPig
Registered Member

Postby saucisson » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:43 pm

Welcome to the forum Pepperpig :)

Hopefully someone will be along with an answer soon, if not I'll have a crack at it myself.

Dave
Curing is not an exact science... So it's not a sin to bin.

Great hams, from little acorns grow...
saucisson
Site Admin

Postby wheels » Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:19 pm

Hi there Peppperpig, Welcome. :lol:

You've posted two very searching questions - immersion curing calculations are a mine-field!

Firstly, the method of calculation is based on the size of the meat as there is a different method for large and small pieces. Secondly, when curing smaller pieces of meat, the calculation can differ according to the size of the meat or amount of brine.

Forum member Oddley can up with a way around this that uses twice the weight of meat to brine, it is used when curing smaller pieces of meat:

New English Brine

IMPORTANT, ONLY USE THESE RATIOS
2 Parts Meat
1 Part Brine

Brine Ingredients
84.79 % - Water
0.21 % - Saltpetre (700 mg/Kg)
10 % - Salt (10.5% Brine concentration)
5 % Sugar

Method: