Why this 2:1 ratio?

Recipes and techniques using brine.

Why this 2:1 ratio?

Postby EdwinT » Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:48 am

I am new to brine curing. I have seen the posts around the 2:1 meat:brine ratio being used all over the site and still can't figure out why the amount of brine liquid surrounding a piece of meat is of any importance.

Surely if I had a 1 kg piece of meat submerged in 0.5 litres of brine, that same piece of meat would absorb the same amount of the brine constituents if it was submerged in 1000 litres of the same brine mix.

Why is the volume of of brine so critical then?
EdwinT
Registered Member

Postby Titch » Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:57 am

I look forward to replies to this question.
Was wondering the same thing.
Cheers.
Titch
Marriage is a life sentence.
Titch
Registered Member

Postby Jogeephus » Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:12 pm

The volume doesn't matter as long as you have plenty of room and the meat isn't crowded. The 2:1 gives you a good idea how much brine to make to fully cover the meat so you don't make too much and waste money or too little and not have enough to cover the meat. A 70% brine is going to cure the meat weather you have a gallon or a million gallons. Its simply for planning. Least that's how it works for me.

edit: BTW - I actually bump it up to 60% of weight of meat since I often pull 10% for injection purposes.
Patience please, I'm just trying to get on the learning curve.
Jogeephus
Registered Member

Re: Why this 2:1 ratio?

Postby wheels » Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:14 pm

EdwinT wrote:Surely if I had a 1 kg piece of meat submerged in 0.5 litres of brine, that same piece of meat would absorb the same amount of the brine constituents if it was submerged in 1000 litres of the same brine mix.