Sausage shriveling???

Tips and tecniques on dryng drying, curing etc.

Sausage shriveling???

Postby turbold » Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:33 am

I am a newbie at sausage making. I have followed the directions exactly as it is in the sausage making book but my sausage always appears shriveled up. I know that it says I have used too high a temperature or cooked it too long when this happens. But, I preheat the smoker to 130 and apply smoke for 3-4 hours then raise the temperature to 160 and cook until internal temperature is 150. I am making a summer sausage and using 2 1/2 casings. Any help would be appreciated.
turbold
Registered Member

Postby DanMcG » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:09 am

Have you checked to see if your thermometer is accurate? Do you have pockets of fat collect under the casings? How many hours does it take top get to your 150 internal temp?
DanMcG
Registered Member

Postby turbold » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:12 pm

Yes I have checked my thermometer and it is accurate. I do not have fat pockets forming under the casing. It took 16 hours to get the temperature up to 146. Thank you for your help.
turbold
Registered Member

Postby vagreys » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:34 pm

Can you post a recipe? What kind of fat are you using in your recipe? How did you make them? Are your sausages stuffed loosely or tightly or somewhere in between? There are a lot of reasons for the casing to wrinkle if we don't assume that everything went perfectly in the making.
- tom

Don't tell me the odds.

You have the power to donate life
vagreys
Site Admin

Postby crustyo44 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:29 pm

Hi turbold,
You are not alone, I made csabai once that was minced and stuffed like I done many times before.
This time after drying and smoking the sausage, in pork casings, shrivelled considerably. The stuffing was too easy and I came to the conclusion that the pork was a lot more juicier than I ever had before.
The drying and subsequent smoking shrivelled the casings in my honest opinion.