Question about smoking fresh sausage

Tips and tecniques on dryng drying, curing etc.

Question about smoking fresh sausage

Postby Ed Gerrard » Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:16 am

I am new to sausage making and am interested in making a bratwurst and then smoking it. I understand I need to use cure#1 in the sausage but have seen several articles that advise smoking to a temperature of 152* F. If the curing salt is there to take care of the bacteria wouldn't you want to smoke at the lowest temp possible to prevent dehydration? Why run the heat up so high?
Thanks for your thoughts.
Ed Gerrard
Registered Member

Re: Question about smoking fresh sausage

Postby johngaltsmotor » Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:46 pm

Cure #1 is for curing and short term bacteria prevention. Are you planning to eat them raw essentially?
If you are going to dry them for an extended period you need to use Cure #2.
If you are going to grill/bake them before serving then you can simply use the smoke for flavor as long as your later cooking process gets them hot enough to fully cook.

Most times when you smoke a sausage to 150F-ish it is considered ready to eat, so this is likely what was intended by the recipe.

How do you intend to serve them?
Pigs are magical creatures.... they turn vegetables into BACON!!
johngaltsmotor
Registered Member

Postby Ed Gerrard » Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:13 pm

My intention was to make them, smoke them, freeze them and then cook them later, either by simmering in beer and finishing on the grill or just using the grill. I agree with your interpretation but in both articles they said they froze them after finishing the smoking. So the intent seems to have been to have them completely done and then save them by freezing. I would have thought it would have been better to save the cooking until you are ready to eat them......thaw them out and cook.
Ed Gerrard
Registered Member

Postby johngaltsmotor » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:46 pm