Salty Salami's

Air dried cured meat and salami recipes

Salty Salami's

Postby Fallow Buck » Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:50 pm

I'm just finishing up my latest batch of air dried Salami's and ChorizoI made, and need another project. My Venison and Red wine Salamis in the ox bungs will need another month or two before they are mature so I'm looking for something to put into runners.

The tastes of the sausages I have made so far have been goos except for them being slightly too salty for my liking. I'm usung regular table salt in the recipes at 2.2%of meat+fat weight.

Is it possible that some brands of salt are saltier than others?

thanks,
FB
In God We trust, Everyone Else Pays Cash.
Fallow Buck
Registered Member

Postby tristar » Mon Mar 20, 2006 3:38 pm

Hi Fallow Buck,

I have no experience as yet of Salami making but would volunteer the following thought, whilst 2.2% is a fairly average amount for a fresh sausage, what must not be forgotten, is that on dehydration of the Salami to 50% of it's original weight, the salt concentration would have doubled. Did you take this 2.2% from a recipe somewhere?

Regards,
"Don't be shy, just give it a try!"
Food for The Body and The Soul
tristar
Registered Member

Postby Wohoki » Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:14 pm

2% is a standard minimum to preserve meat when dried. I wouldn't use less than this, and some is lost as the sausage "weeps" a little during the first week to ten days.
Wohoki
Registered Member

Postby Epicurohn » Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Haven't Air Dried yet but from what I've read: Air Dried meats are prone to quality issues if you use salt that contains iodine, flouride or anti-caking agents such as silica.

Sugar or dextrose can be used to a larger proportion to balance the saltiness of the product. How does Corn Syrup Solids play with balancing saltiness vs. bacteria (good bacteria) creation?

David
Epicurohn
Registered Member

Postby Fallow Buck » Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:54 am

Hi All,