lamb Recipe I want to try but need help

Air dried cured meat and salami recipes

lamb Recipe I want to try but need help

Postby dba1954 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:44 pm

I found a recipe on line that looks interesting but need recommendations. I can have Lamb ground at the butcher or do it my self but the recipe doesn't mention 2 key elements.... How fine a grind and how much fat content. Could I just do a medium grind of a whole leg of lamb untrimmed? I'm very new to this so I really welcome recommendations.

Aussie Lamb Sausage

3-lbs ground lamb
2-sun dried tomatoes, finely chopped
8-oz feta cheese, crumbled
3-tbsp fresh basil, finely chopped
1-tbsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped
1-tbsp minced garlic
1-tsp salt
1/2-tsp freshly ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients, mix well & stuff into hog casing
dba1954
Registered Member

Re: lamb Recipe I want to try but need help

Postby BriCan » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:29 am

dba1954 wrote:I found a recipe on line that looks interesting but need recommendations. I can have Lamb ground at the butcher or do it my self but the recipe doesn't mention 2 key elements.... How fine a grind and how much fat content. Could I just do a medium grind of a whole leg of lamb untrimmed?

I do a fair bit of lamb sausages; I only take off the heavy fat but leave on the light stuff otherwise it will be to dry, you can (if you want) add 1/3rd pork to the lamb which also will insure that sausages stay moist. As to the grind; I do a course first then mix spices in well and grind with medium plate twice (once is aright)

HTH
But what do I know
BriCan
Registered Member

Postby the chorizo kid » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:27 pm

my sister-in-law made a very similar sausage recently. lots of work. also, here in the states, the ground lamb costs an arm and a leg. unfortunately, as made, it was very dry, which hurt the flavor quite a bit. i think the fat not only gives moisture and mouth feel, but also helps bring out the flavor of the spices.
the chorizo kid