Dry Aged Steaks

Air dried cured Meat Techniques

Dry Aged Steaks

Postby ericrice » Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:27 pm

I've read a little bit on the subject but figured someone on here had experience with dry aging beef. If so any tips/tricks you can share?
Occupation?? Part time Butcher, Chef, Microbiologist, Scientist and Meteorologist – does what pays the bills really matter?

Eric
ericrice
Registered Member

Re: Dry Aged Steaks

Postby crustyo44 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:38 pm

Hi Eric,
I am getting very interested in these UMAi bags for dry ageing steaks and making charcuterie after seeing several short clips on YouTube on how to do it all.
Do any forum members have used these?
Cheers,
Jan.
crustyo44
Registered Member

Postby Leevers » Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:31 am

Don't take my word for anything as I'm very new to all this, however, I was doing some electrical work for a guy in the hills of Perth and he dry's large amounts of beef in a strange, but logical method. I'm not sure whether this is what you're referring to.

He places a large layer of salt in his vegetable crisper in the fridge and then he places the beef in it (3-5kg) for I think he said 48 hours. He then takes out the beef and replaces the salt in the crisper and repeats this method. He then hangs it in his shed for 4-6weeks after which he just slices it with a knife and eats it. I'm sure this method comes with risks, but he swears by it and short of spending a fortune on salt to do it, I guess it could be considered dry aging?
Leevers
Registered Member

Postby crustyo44 » Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:41 am

Hi Leevers,
I have never seen anybody use this method of dry ageing beef and I don't think I would be keen on trying it either. Perth is a hot climate (watch the cricket) and I would use cure to be on the safe side.
Mind you, a Rhodesian friend of mine told me that many years ago when they were patrolling the bush, they cut meat from dead animals that were bloated fairly well.