Skinning salmon for cold smoking...and other questions

Skinning salmon for cold smoking...and other questions

Postby kevster » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:25 pm

Hi all
Morrisons have whole salmon fillets on offer at the moment...an invitation to experimentation if ever there was one.

In the past I've made gravlax with it, but thought this time I'd cold-smoke it. There appears to be lots of variations of how to cure the salmon prior to smoking. I was going to try starting with a cure of about 40g sea salt and 20g demerara sugar per kg for 16 hours, air-dry for 8 hours, brush with a whiskey syrup glaze and smoke for 8 hours (or is this too long)?

I was also wondering why the salmon isn't skinned before hand? From a common sense point of view (and I'm no expert in that department :wink: ) it would seem that both cure and smoke should penetrate easier if it were skinless. Or is there a reason that I've missed?
Cheers
Kev
kevster
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Hi Kev

What price is the salmon?

I don't measure the cure but put a good sprinkling on to cover the fish. I only cure for about 8 hours. I smoke using the ProQ CSG for about 30 hours - but I have a fast throughput on my smoking chamber. Others, I know find 12 hours plenty.

The skin keeps it all intact. I imagine it would be difficult to finely slice it if it was skinless.

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby kevster » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:05 pm

wheels wrote:Hi Kev

What price is the salmon?

I don't measure the cure but put a good sprinkling on to cover the fish. I only cure for about 8 hours. I smoke using the ProQ CSG for about 30 hours - but I have a fast throughput on my smoking chamber. Others, I know find 12 hours plenty.

The skin keeps it all intact. I imagine it would be difficult to finely slice it if it was skinless.

Phil

Hi Phil
The salmon is £6.66 per kilo...which is as cheap as I can find it around here (although I've seen it cheaper just before christmas).