Sausage Smokehouse Problems

Sausage Smokehouse Problems

Postby Staff » Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:44 pm

Hello. I have been smoking sausage for about 8 years now. I have two
smokers that I have hand build, one is made out of an old refridge and the another is build out of wood studs, insulated and lined with 1/4" thick
plate aluminum with inside dimentions are 2' wide, 2' deep and about 6' tall (inside dimentions). The problem that I have been running into from the first time I used it, is that the sausage that I smoke in it takes a long time to get up to the needed inside temp of 150 deg. The heating element has
no problem getting the smoker up to temp (150-160) but the sausage takes a long time to smoke. The other smoker that I have (refridge) takes about 8-10 hours to get the sausage up to temp. This is the cook time that I would like. The other takes 12 somtimes 14 hours! This gives the sausage a bad smell/taste sometimes. I have a 4" vent tube on top with a few other vents on the bottom to get good air circulation. I have an external smoke generator that is connected to the main unit with a 4" tube. Any ideas......???
Staff
Registered Member

Postby Fatman » Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:49 pm

Staff

I'm the wrong bloke to be replying to your problem as I have no experience in smoking, however in an attempt to assist, my view is that as you are using aluminium which as we all know is a great conductor of heat. It is taking all or most of your heat thus offering poor results . A wood only smoker I'm sure would be better , can you take away the aluminium?

Fatman
Fatman
Registered Member

Postby Staff » Mon Dec 06, 2004 6:25 pm

Thanks for the tip. Taking out the aluminum would require a lot of work