new guy/intoduction

Introductions and chatter

new guy/intoduction

Postby caruso » Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:37 am

I have been making dry cured meats for about 20 years on my own, most of my recipies are family recipies that we can conservetly trace back about 150 years. My grand father came from Naples Italy in 1892 died in the states in 1972 he was approximately 16 years old when he came here( some estimates have him as old as 22)he did sign his name in the books at ellis island so lets just say he was 10 that would have made him 90 yrs old in 72. when I asked my dad where he learned to make the sausages my dad told me from his father who learned from his father. Now I have no proof of this so even if he got the recipies and techniques from someone else off the boat when he came over that person had them for a while. none of my recipies call for lactic starter or cultures and my family has considered any mold "bad" so in keeping with tradition I have not introduced them to the recipies. keeping with tradition last year I started training my 10 year old son in sausage making.
caruso
Registered Member

Postby aris » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:24 am

Feel free to post some of your recipes & techniques for curing!
aris
Site Admin

Postby Sandy » Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:22 am

Yes please!

I would love to hear more!

Sandy. :D
Sandy
Registered Member

Postby caruso » Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:11 am

aris & Sandy