Beef sausage recipe

Recipes for all sausages

Beef sausage recipe

Postby gnol » Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:31 pm

Hi all,
I am a total newbie to sausage making and just got my sausage maker last week.
Since my other half does not like pork (yet) :) I was wondering wether someone has a good beef sausage recipe I can make for my first batch.
Many thanks
gnol
gnol
Registered Member

Postby Paul Kribs » Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:06 am

gnol

I have not made a totally beef sausage as I use pork fat instead of beef fat, but see no reason why beef fat/suet could not be used.

As for a recipe, it would depend on what kind of flavour you are looking for. Savoury taste or sweet taste, strong flavour or mild.. You can adjust any recipe to suit yourself, it is worth experimenting and adding ingredients to suit your preference. Once you reach a recipe you like, write it down. If you do a search on this forum for 'beef' sausage you will probably find quite a few.

For a basic savoury beef sausage try:

2 kilos of minced beef (skirt)
400 grms of minced pork backfat
1/2 teaspoon of ground mace
1 teaspoon of dried thyme
1 teaspoon of dried sage
I teaspoon of ground black pepper
1 tablespoon of salt
1 cup of rusk or dry breadcrumb
1 1/2 cups of water

combine all the ingredients and mix well. Form a small pattie and fry to establish your personal taste. Adjust the seasoning to suit and then try some again. Stuff into casings of you choice and link into sausages. leave in the fridge overnight for the flavours to meld (bloom).
These can be grilled, baked in the oven, fried of cooked on the BBQ. These are best cooked on a medium heat for about 20 minutes.

Regards, Paul Kribs
Last edited by Paul Kribs on Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Paul Kribs
Registered Member

Postby gnol » Fri Sep 09, 2005 4:23 am

Thanks for the suggestion Paul.
In my haste to try my new sausage maker I ended up making the recipe on this site.
http://recipes.egullet.org/recipes/r137 ... 924a7b899d.