Making a "Toulouse" Sausage Recipe?

Recipes for all sausages

Making a "Toulouse" Sausage Recipe?

Postby MrsPidge32 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:28 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to sausage making, and new to the forum (although I've been lurking for a while).
I've tried Oddley's famous Cumberland Sausage recipe, which I love (as does my husband!).

For my next foray into sausage making I really wanted to make what we in the UK would call a "Toulouse" but I fear the French would sniff at. Although supermarket sausages are not great (and full of rubbish which is part of why I wanted to try making my own in the first place), we like Tesco's Finest Toulouse Sausage.

Based on Oddley's Cumberland, and Tesco's Ingredients lists, I've hodgepodged together a recipe, and I'd love to have the opinion of some expert sausage makers? I'll be stuffing into hog skins as I seem to get on fine with them, I'm sure I'll move onto lamb one soon, but for now pig is working fine :-)

They are supposed to be garlicy, bacony, winey and herby, I've come up with:

- 630g pork shoulder
- 200 pork belly
- 120g smoked back bacon (as I'll be chopping into little pieces rather than mincing I've gone for back bacon so you won't get little chewy fatty pieces like you might with streaky)
- 11g Salt (usually I'd do about 13g, as that's what we've settled on when tweaking Oddley's Cumberland to our preferred salt levels, but as bacon is salty I thought I should lower it?)
- 100g breadcrumbs (I used rusk in my second batch of cumberlands by they turned out drier than before, having looked on these forums, If I use rusk again i'll be upping the liquid by .5)
- 100g liquid/Merlot (Tesco only calls for 2% red wine but that doesn't seem like a lot, what would be a good percentage of wine or wine and water?)
- 6 cloves garlic (is this too much garlic?)