I have dropped into a dimension with a different language

Recipes for all sausages

Postby cmocallaghan » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:17 pm

Hi, it is me again asking probably very basic questions but I am a beginner and determined to crack this and make great yummy sausages. :D

I feel I have dropped into another dimension with a different language. :?

Wheels AKA Phil the Moderator suggests that I try the Pork & Apple recipe by Welsh Wizard

1kg Pork
c40g dried apple
10g salt
2g pepper
7% rusk
7% apple juice simmered down to concentrate the flavour and cooled
Herbs from the garden (depending on what’s about)

And he suggests any recipe posted by Oddley and I like the look of: Gloucester Pork Sausage

Pork 80% vl
Of meat
10 % Breadcrumbs
10 % Iced Water
1.88 % Spice Mix

Spice Mix
79.7826 % Salt
5.5449 % Black Pepper
4.4359 % Nutmeg
5.5449 % Sage
3.412 % Thyme
1.2797 % Marjoram

Usage weight 18.8 g/Kg or 1.88 %

Only I have not got a clue how to turn the % into a recipe I can understand and I want to try making a few pounds not 18.8kg.

What do I do? :?:
Caroline
cmocallaghan
Registered Member

Postby Richierich » Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:03 pm

I think there have been a couple of different ways in which the %'s have been written.

If you look at the Pork & Apple one, the 7% refers to the weight of rusk compared to the weight of meat. 1kg of meat is called for. 7% of 1000g (1kg) is 70g, add 70g of rusk, you would also use 70g of Apple juice, I would not weigh the juice, its close enough to 70ml as not to worry about it I would think.

I would need to check the Gloucester Pork recipe, as this looks to me to be written in a different way, but if that is the case then the total is 101.88%, which you clearly can't have. But if you look at the spice mix and the %'s there. If it was be I would make maybe 100g of seasoning, so the 100% weight is 100g, you would therefore use 79.8g of salt, 5.5g black pepper, 4.4g nutmeg etc. Just multiply the 100% weight by the %'age.