Off to kill a boar...

Keeping pigs or any other animals

Off to kill a boar...

Postby denty632 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:34 am

So, it's been a while since I was on here, but I am not only a purveyor of sausages but also the owner of a gun or two... Relax, I am also an officer of the law so quite safe!

So, my ownership of guns has meant that a local farmer has asked me to come to his farm and help kill a boar, for this he has offered me a quarter of the pig and as much offal etc as I like!!

He tells me that the boar is old and will only really be fit for sausages and/or pork pies....

So, some help and guidance...

Lots of recipes for black pudding on here, I will give it a go, not sure about stirring the blood but will se how we go... Any suggestions on collecting and storing the blood would be gratefully received, or links to good sites...

Will the meat be good for only sausages? Or will it be any good for other recipes.

I hope to prepare the intestines for casings, I have found some good links but any suggestions or good links would be appreciated.

I also hope to get as much of the fat as possible, any suggestions? I use the fat for goose sausages, but is all fat good fat?

So, lots of questions! I would be grateful for any guidance..especially on the offal, I do not have a clue where to start!

Cheers

Steve
Tha Falklands Baker Boy
denty632
Registered Member

Re: Off to kill a boar...

Postby yotmon » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:58 pm