Kunekune X Captain Cooker pigs and the mighty Zambo plant

Keeping pigs or any other animals

Kunekune X Captain Cooker pigs and the mighty Zambo plant

Postby Sam Newman » Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:28 pm

Has anyone grown Zambos before? They are like a mellon shaped marrow. I have been feeding them to my piggys for the last 2 weeks and they absolutely LOVE them! I have 2 Kunekune X Captain Cook sows about 2 months old. I'm thinking they will be the perfect cross for sausage making. The fat on the Kunekune and the beautiful flavour from the Captain Cook. I have been growing Zambo plants for over 10 years and you really can't muck it up. They are so easy to grow and the whole plant is edable. It was a terrible season for Pumpkins here, but the Zambos are still pumping it. They are great to grow by the river bank. The chooks like them too. What age is best to harvest the pigs for sausages? Kunekune are usually harvested at 3 and 1/2 months because of the amount of fat on them, but would I be able to grow them longer with the Captain Cook crossed into the breed? Cheers, Sam :D
You can lead a dog to water, but you can't make him a horse.
Sam Newman
Registered Member

Location: Raetea Forest, Maungataniwha Ranges, Far North of Aotearoa New Zealand

Postby Dogfish » Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:47 pm

What is Zambo? Photos? What is a KuneKune and a Captain Cook pig? Are they local to your area and upgrades from wild pigs?

Sounds interesting.
Dogfish
Registered Member

Postby Sam Newman » Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:30 am

Image This is 1 of the pigs on the 1st day I got them. She's such a sweety
Sam Newman
Registered Member

Location: Raetea Forest, Maungataniwha Ranges, Far North of Aotearoa New Zealand

Postby Sam Newman » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:02 am

And this is the other piggy. She is much naughtyer than the black 1. More aggressive and more likely to end up in the freezer sooner in the shape of sausages.
And this is a fully grown Zambo.
Sam Newman
Registered Member