Lamb Neck fillets

All other recipes including your personal favourite and any seasonal tips to share

Lamb Neck fillets

Postby wallie » Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:51 am

I have seen quite a few recipes lately using Lamb Neck Fillets.
I am trying to get some clarification on this cut.
I was a cook at sea for quite a number of years and had to do my own butchery on whole carcasses of beef, lamb and pork and the only cut I know in this respect was lamb neck end either as a whole piece or cut into neckend chops.
This was a cut full of flavour but had to have long slow cooking or it was tough.
Yet I was watching a program on ITV yesterday "Britains best dish" and this recipe used neck end fillet and it was only cooked in the oven for 8minutes each side.
In another recipe I seen it was barbequed.
Surely anything of the neckend would be tough after only 16minutes cooking!
Unless I am out of touch with modern cuts of meat and there is some magic part of the neck that gives a tender fillet.
I would appreciate if anyone knows the butchering skills would let me know where this cut comes from.

Thanks
wallie
wallie
Registered Member

Postby ifpo238 » Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:41 pm

if they cooked it such a short time, my guess would be that it's part of the loin or tenderloin from the neck end.

-j
ifpo238
Registered Member

Postby saucisson » Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:11 pm

I think you are correct, having cooked scrag end of neck before I was surprised when I came across a piece of "neck" in a supermarket clear out section that looked just like tenderloin from a pig (only it was lamb, obviously). The most succulent lamb I have ever tasted.

Dave
saucisson
Site Admin

Postby Richierich » Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:13 am

This is what deliaonline had to say. Although did find another site that stated that neck fillets were from the scrag, and were ideal for slow cooking.

Middle neck or scrag end of neck of lamb