Newbie trying a kit - seeking Guidance

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Newbie trying a kit - seeking Guidance

Postby tengu1234 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:41 pm

Hello Everyone,

I have been looking at your forums and they are a wealth of knowledge. I did a quick search but didn't find my exact question so hopefully this isn't a repeat.

I purchased 2 home sausage making kits. 1 Hi Mountain Bratwurst and one Cabela's Italian Sausage kits while on a trip to the states for black Friday. I was reviewing the instructional sheet that was included and it shows a mixture of Beef or Venison to Pork. I had planned on making turkey sausages with these kits.

Is this possible?
Is there anything that I should be aware of?

Keep in mind, that this purchase was on a whim and I have no real experience in doing this.

Any help or suggestions you can provide would be great.

Thanks
tengu1234
Registered Member

Postby vagreys » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:45 pm

Were you going to grind the turkey yourself, or were you going to buy ground turkey?
- tom

Don't tell me the odds.

You have the power to donate life
vagreys
Site Admin

Postby NCPaul » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:53 pm

Welcome to the forum. :D You can make turkey sausage with these kits but you may want to add some pork fat to the meat since turkey is very lean. As a starting point, try to get to an 80/20 ratio of lean meat to fat. What type of equipment do you have?
Fashionably late will be stylishly hungry.
NCPaul
Site Admin

Postby tengu1234 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Thank you for all the reply's. As for the turkey, I will be grinding it myself.