Journey Begins - Sausage Making (?)

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Journey Begins - Sausage Making (?)

Postby Sausage_Man » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:40 pm

Hi All
Nice to be apart of this forum and looking forward to learning from you'll.

Firstly, before i continue further, I am a total beginner at Sausage Making. I've never ever made sausages before but i have tasted a fair amount of store bought sausages, some good, some bad and some just despicable to even mention.

None the less, i decided to embark on a mission to make my own sausage that i can call the best in my opinion.

I have just obtained a Mincer with a sausage filler attachment and I'm half way there to start. I have also sourced some Sheep Casings and I will be using lamb as my meat source.

I have one teeny weeny problem. Most of the recipes call for Pork Fat and i understand the need for it as it adds juiciness to the sausage however I'm not allowed to eat pork at all - what's the next best alternative?

I was thinking of adding some oil or maybe margarine that's hard and mince it with the lamb to create a bit of juiciness - would this work?
With regards to the lamb, is there any specific cut of lamb I should be using or will anything go?

Look forward to hearing from you guys
Regards
S
Sausage_Man
Registered Member

Postby Oddwookiee » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:12 pm

Don't add oil, it messes with proportions and textures in your sausage. You can try beef fat as a second-best- try talking to you local butcher and ask for fat off the chuck or crossrib. Barring that, I've experimented with chicken fat, but it's devilishly hard to get a decent amount. You may also try a vegetable shortening, something solid at room temperature. I can't make any recommendations with that as I've no experience with it.