Binding issues

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Binding issues

Postby brennuvarger » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:03 pm

I've been making sausage in a butcher shop for a few months now. I'm pretty new to the craft and have been enjoying the process a lot. I just created my first recipe, a smoked pork and apple sausage. Flavorwise it's pretty okay, no complaints there. However, the main issue has been that of texture and binding. The apples I use are chopped up roughly to the size of a pinky nail. I grind half the pork and fat on medium and the other half on fine (The batch is 30% fat). After smoking the sausage I sample the fresh batch and small parts of it begin to crumble, luckily most of it holds. My manager claims the issue has to do with binding but offers not other suggestion on how to fix it. I'm pretty sure that if I just grind the whole batch on medium I should have this problem. I've also thought of using milk powder as I've had success with that in another smoked sausage we make. I was also thinking of adding more fat.... Any suggestions?
brennuvarger
Registered Member

Re: Binding issues

Postby DiggingDogFarm » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:20 am

Is there a lot of acid in the recipe?

~Martin
~Martin
Unsupervised rebellious radical agrarian experimenter, minimalist penny-pincher, self-reliant homesteader and adventurous cook. Crotchety cantankerous terse curmudgeon, non-conformist and contrarian who questions everything!
DiggingDogFarm
Registered Member

Postby ComradeQ » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:15 am