Fermentation temp for chorizo with t-spx

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Fermentation temp for chorizo with t-spx

Postby sheermomentum » Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:04 pm

I'm sorry if this is a very newbie question - but I am a newbie and I'm concerned about something.

I made my first batch of chorizo last weekend, and I followed a recipe that specified to let it hang for days at around 68 degrees fahrenheit/20 degrees celsius. I also see from the general directions for the T-SPX culture that optimum fermentation temps are 68 to 74 (or 20 to 23). But I had it hanging in a place that my own readings over the 3 days it was there were never above 62/16, and most of the time, they were closer to 60/15.

I have not taken a pH reading (I'll be doing this in the future). Do you think I should be worried about spoilage at this point? The color does not look too dark, and there is a certain scent, but I cannot tell for certain whether it is the meat or the larger-than-specified amount of garlic that I added.

It's hanging now in my cheese fridge (which is now my meat and cheese fridge), and I'll probably just wait and see how it turns out in a couple months. But I'd appreciate a more expert opinion from anyone who has one. Should I be worried?
sheermomentum
Registered Member

Re: Fermentation temp for chorizo with t-spx

Postby wheels » Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:38 pm

Hi, welcome. Here's the effect of temp on T-SPX taken from a brochure issued by the manufacturer:

HTH

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby NCPaul » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:13 pm

Ideally the pH of the chorizo would reach 5.3 on the graph Wheels has posted. Your temperature was a little cool. The amount of sugar and the amount of starter culture will also play a part. Welcome to the forum. :D