help

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

help

Postby hoggie » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:41 pm

hi folks, i am quite new to this, i have made a few batches of sausages, but i am having a frigging nightmare. just made another lot of pork sausages, but the casings (hog) stick to the horn, or they seem to, then they burst. i soaked them for a couple of hours, and rinsed them inside. please anybody tell me what i am doing wrong. thanks. john
hoggie
Registered Member

Postby Paul Kribs » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:53 pm

hoggie

Thread the casing onto the filler horn/tube of the stuffer using forefinger and thumb. Once the first bit is on it goes very easily. If the casing diameter is a bit tight, do not thread it too far up the tapered filler as this will restrict the filling operation and could cause the casing to burst.
The casing should flow off the filler/horn easily by the action of the meat mix filling it, whereby you control the rate it leaves the horn which in turn dictates how full the casings will be.
If you have a smaller filler tube/horn, use that.

Regards, Paul Kribs
Paul Kribs
Registered Member

Postby aris » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:11 pm

Putting a bit of vegetable oil on the horn, and also re-rinsing the inside of the casing just prior to feeding it onto the horn helps. The water acts as a lubricant.
aris
Site Admin

Postby hoggie » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:15 pm

thanks paul, it's so frustrating, i managed to get some sausages, made the rest into burgers using a plastic burger maker i got on e-bay, really tasted good. it is a tapered horn, could it be that i am putting to much casing on the thing? i'll get there, just needs practice. thanks again paul. john
hoggie
Registered Member

Postby Paul Kribs » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:42 pm

hoggie