Bacon has gone bad - not properly cured?

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Bacon has gone bad - not properly cured?

Postby frenchian2 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:07 am

Hi, folks, can I ask for some help?

I've been making bacon for 5/6 years, and never had a problem till now. I use belly of pork, trimmed of bone, skin and excess fat. I dry cure it with a cure like Saucissons (21g salt, 10g sugar and 0.2g saltpetre per kilo). It gets one day per 1/2" in a ziplock bag in the fridge, turned daily. Then, it gets rinsed and left in the bottom of the fridge for another 2-4 days.

At this stage, I normally smoke it, but with this batch I had no time (had to go away over Xmas) so I got my butcher to slice it then vac-pack it. This went into the fridge. When I opened it yesterday, it was off - a very nasty smell from the bag.

I need to know why. Apart from the lack of amoking, it was exactly the same recipe and quantities as before. I've had it vac-packed before and it worked. I'm wondering if the curing didn't work properly (it drew much less liquid than usual - relevant?). Is the cure too old (I mixed this batch maybe 2 years ago)?

Any ideas and help will be appreciated.

Thanks
frenchian2
Registered Member

Re: Bacon has gone bad - not properly cured?

Postby badjak » Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:44 am

I am not the best one to help, but since nobody replied yet I will give it a try.

The first thought that came to my mind was some contamination somewhere, maybe a dirty knife/slicer/container (after taking it out of the brine)?

Why do you keep your bacon for 2 days in the bottom of the fridge fridge after removing it from the brine ?
I would just leave it to dry for a bit before smoking, not 2 days though.