suspected case hardening and mould issues.

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

suspected case hardening and mould issues.

Postby BC_Sausageguy » Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:03 pm

Hi Guys
Total newbie here to the joys of curing meats. I have a couple of issues that i could really use some help with,heres the first !

I hung some salami as per ruhlmans recipe on March 5th and today i pulled one out to check. The exterior doesn't feel exceptionally hard but the inside is definitely softer than i would have expected. Its cured but i fear not enough. I have noticed a lot of people mentioning vac packing which i can do, is this a good way to resolve this problem?

The second issue i have is mould, I noticed chalky white mould appearing on my salami and on my pancetta about 2 weeks ago( which i know to be a good thing) however just recently i noticed some fluffy white stuff appearing which i know is not good, I wiped them down with a rag soaked in vinegar but the mould has reappeared and today i noticed the pancetta has a worrying green mould appear :( i definitely know this is not good :( i cut of the offending part and cleaned again with a rag. The pancetta is cured at this stage and won't be eaten raw, However considering the appearance of the green mould is it still safe to eat? seems like a heartbreaking waste to throw out but i need to know if this is my only option?