Confusion before first attempt at brine immersion curing

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

Confusion before first attempt at brine immersion curing

Postby silkstre » Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:12 am

Hi
I've been producing my own GOS pork for several years now but this year have decided to take the plunge and do my own curing...

I want to brine cure some hams without using salt petre or proprietary curing chemicals. I am curing for flavour not keeping qualities - my hams will either be cooked immediately or frozen for cooking later.
So I was just planning to make up a brine using cooking salt in water and/or beer and/or vinegar + sugar and spices.
But having browsed this site and read Hugh F-W (HFW) River Cottage Cookbook, Mrs Beeton (MrsB) and John Seymour (JS) I am pretty confused about brine strength to say the least!

To summarise:

JS talks about 8 lbs salt in 5 gallons which is 160g/litre
MrsB talks about 8 lbs salt in 3 gallons which is 266 g/litre
HFW's basic brine is 2Kg salt in 6 litres of water which is 333g/litre
HFW's ham cure is 1.5 Kg salt in 4 litres of beer/treacle which is 375g/litre
and I seem to remember Oddley's Basic Brine is 126g salt/litre

Then there's how long to leave them in, which seems to vary from 24 hours (HFW for a light bacon style cure) to 2-3 weeks (HFW for a ham cure) to 1 month (MrsB) to 60 days (JS who suggest 4 days per lb so 60 days for a 15lb leg).

Not to mention what king of salt (not) to use!

Please can someone give me some clear advice - I've got 4 hams in the fridge currently just rubbed in cooking salt to draw out the last of the blood.

Thanks Julian

PS Also posted on Curing/Techniques two ideas 1) using sea water as brine 2) adding smoked paprika to a bacon dry cure - but not had many replies. Any views?
JulianS
silkstre