My breakfast sausage is too dry

Beginners FAQ on sausage making, meat curing etc may often be found at the head of each relevant section, but here is the place to ask experienced users for advice if you are still stuck or need more information...we're here to help!

My breakfast sausage is too dry

Postby cchapo » Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:57 am

As a novice i began making a typical breakfast sausage from internet recipes with the usual sage, thyme etc.I find, and friends agree that the texture is too course and dry, i have tried several things to alter the texture but nothing works leading me to believe that this is the way a breakfast sausage should be.Any advise please
cchapo
Registered Member

Postby captain wassname » Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:39 am

Hello and welcome.
Most texture and dryness problems are caused by not mixing enough or mixing too warm.
The mixture should be only just above freezing and you should mix until the sausage meat turns mushy and sticky and then some more.
If your hands dont hurt then you probably havent mixed enough or the mix wasnt cold enough.
Hope this helps.

Jim
captain wassname
Registered Member

Postby quietwatersfarm » Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:41 am

The Cap'n is dead right. Thoroughly chilled meat, mixing properly and giving sausages time to hang and dry off in a chiller for at least 24 hours are the most important factors in achieving a good finished product, in my opinion.

I used to know a 'sausage maker' who would buy meat in the morning at the shops, take it home, mince it once, sprinkle his rusk and seasoning on and give it a quick rummage and then mince it again, immediately stuff and then pack them for sale/dispatch.

Because he was apparently an expert, he could never be told that these were not sausages he was making, just little dry bags of meat'

Golden rule #1 : Chill, chill and chill again.
Golden rule #2 : Mix, mix and mix again.
Golden rule #3 : Hang em in a fridge to evaporate.