Small-Scale Production for Farmer's Markets: Equipment

The place to swap commercial recipes, techniques etc.

Small-Scale Production for Farmer's Markets: Equipment

Postby Cultured Foods » Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:00 pm

Hello I am new to this forum, and new to sausage making as well. My profession is as a fermenter of vegetables, mostly sauerkraut. However, my girlfriend and I have set out to make a micro business this summer selling sausages at farmer's markets in Hawaii. There are no fresh grilled sausage stands here yet.

We are looking at selling 100 sausages a market, 2 or 3 times a week. Total 300 sausage a week, or 100 lbs a week. The reality of how much we can actually sell may be up to 50 percent these figures in the first months.

They will be made fresh in a certified kitchen, then frozen for later use. We'd like to make batches every 2 weeks.

This is the equipment I think we'll need to get started.

Meat Grinder: LEM .75 horsepower rated at 365 lbs/hour.

http://www.amazon.com/LEM-Products-Stai ... roduct_top

Stuffer: LEM 15lb Stuffer

http://www.lemproducts.com/product/792/194

To anyone out there who could offer feedback on whether these tools would do the job well, I thank you very much.

Ryan
"It does not matter how slow you go so long as you don't stop." Confucius
Cultured Foods
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:38 pm

They're big sausages 300 = 100lbs = 3 to a lb.

The equipment you link to is adequate for 3 x 30lb (ish) batches per week. However, I'd think about the future (and an easier life!) and maybe go larger at this stage rather than having to get new equipment later.

Personally, I'd want a #22 grinder with at least 1 hp and a minimum requirement for the stuffer would be a quick release for refilling. Winding the piston up to refill becomes annoying after a while.

HTH

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby Cultured Foods » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:58 am

Thanks Phil, that is great advice. Much appreciated.
Cultured Foods