In Search Of An Authentic Recipe: Wiltshire Cured Bacon

Recipes and techniques using brine.

In Search Of An Authentic Recipe: Wiltshire Cured Bacon

Postby Dazzlin » Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:56 am

Hey Everyone,

OK, so this'll be my first time posting in a forum for DIY curing (never ventured into such an area before --- in fact, I didn't even realise that there was such a following).

I'll cut right to the chase, I don't know why, but I've got a big thing for 'heritage' foods at the moment and one of things I would most love to do would be to cure/brine/pickle (which ever word best describes what I am doing) my own, authentic, Wiltshire Cured Back Bacon.

Here's my dilemma:

First, I've never done this before (and so need to absorb as much information and advice that anyone is willing to pass on)

Secondly/Lastly and Most Importantly --- I'm looking for "THE" recipe for Wiltshire Cured Bacon (if such a recipe indeed exists).

Plenty of sites will either explain what they do and/or what the general process is, examples as at the bottom, but I cannot find anything which really get's to the 'meat and potatoes' of what, where, how much, long long, etc, etc of HOW to make it...

The very best of my efforts came from an article on 'celtnet' which allegedly is an authentic Wiltshire Cure recipe contained in a book from 1861 named "Mrs Beeton's Book of Household Management" - though I am hasty to believe this article, as it's contents mention nothing about it being a brine of any sort.

So, anyways, there's my story in a nutshell. I'm looking for any and all information ANYONE can provide on this subject. To this end, and put bluntly, has anyone got a real authentic recipe referencing Wiltshire Cured Bacon that has any/all of the qualities of the four examples below?

Oh, and one last question: Just what IS "useful salt tolerant bacteria"/"a special live brine"??? How would one make or acquire such ingredients? Who, What, Why, When and Where?