first try ham advice please

Recipes and techniques using brine.

first try ham advice please

Postby georgebaker » Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:03 pm

Hi
have searched and read loads of posts but still a bit confused so I want advice for a first time set of instructions

What I have
piece of pork leg 1.7kg
Potassium Nitrate (225 gm) crystals !no idea how much water of crystallization
Table salt (1kg) ! and it's 30 years since I worked in a lab
Sugar (3kg)

What I do not have
injection syringe
accurate scales

What I plan (Unless someone tells me it is dangerous
Mix
500gm salt
1 level teaspoon Potassium Nitrate (suspect 5gm)
200gm sugar
some spice (whatever I can find {Ginger? All spice? Cloves?])
Dry rub the meat every day for a week, keep it in the fridge and dry between rubs

Rinse
Boil 5 mins
Drain
Transfer to slow cooker for a few hours

EAT

A rough and ready calculation makes me think it would be if ALL the nitrate was taken up (and no water is lost from the meat) it would be 1500ppm but if 10% of the cure is taken up I would get 150ppm. So with water loss it would be safe to eat

Any advice before I start?

Thanks in advance
George
georgebaker
Registered Member

Postby Chuckwagon » Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:05 pm

Hi George,