Fat rendering, Salt... and wild boar

Tips and tecniques on dryng drying, curing etc.

Fat rendering, Salt... and wild boar

Postby brennuvarger » Mon May 06, 2013 3:07 pm

I apologize in advance if my question(s) seem confusion, but they are all connected and will hopefully make sense...

I've been making sausage for a few months now and things seem to be going relatively smooth, but I'm still feeling pretty novice when it comes to troubleshooting. The last two weeks I've had at least once batch which, according to my manager, had the fat render. My manager says he can tell that fat has rendered by looking at it; ie once the sausage has been stuffed some of the fat looks smeared. He also says that when it feels 'greasy' to the touch, that it's fat seeping out. That's issue number 1.

I was talking to a co-worker who seemed a bit confused when I told him my problem. He doesn't think that the fat is rendering. (We put our fat/meat in the freezer before we grind and mix it. At the very least it's always going to be cold) I then told him that we use roughly .135# of salt, or about 1%, for every 10#s. That's when his eyebrow raised and said he's never used less than about 2% salt per batch. He also point out that the pork we use isn't 100% domestic pig. One of our pork suppliers breeds a pig that is half Eurasian wild boar, half Tamworth. During the past few weeks, that farm has been sending us 100% wild boar.

The same co-worker also finds it odd that we freeze our meat and fat before grinding. Before working at our current job, neither of us saw sausage makers freeze the meat or fat before grinding. Usually meat and fat kept in a walk-in should be cold enough. The typical walk-in is usually 35 degrees (F), ours is a little warmer, 40F, but that doesn't seem very drastic to be an issue.

I'm not ruling out that I may be mixing too much, but when my manager showed me how he mixed the sausage it seemed not different than how I do it.