Need help ,snack sticks turning gray.....

Tips and tecniques on dryng drying, curing etc.

Need help ,snack sticks turning gray.....

Postby br549 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:26 am

Hello all,
I am a 40 + year veteran of making sausage at our family business where we have a Mom and Pop meat packing plant.
Can anyone tell me what would make my snack sticks turn gray at the bottom ??
This is a dry cured product smoked with hickory.
In all my years of sausage making I've never had this happen...What could cause this ?? Bacteria ??

Thanks
br549
Registered Member

Re: Need help ,snack sticks turning gray.....

Postby NCPaul » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:19 pm

Welcome to the forum. You'll need to give us more of an idea of your process and recipe.
Fashionably late will be stylishly hungry.
NCPaul
Site Admin

Postby NCPaul » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:32 pm

I think from what you posted on the other forum that you have a pH problem, can you measure that?
Fashionably late will be stylishly hungry.
NCPaul
Site Admin

Postby wheels » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:26 pm

Welcome.

Looking at the void in the sausage (I'm assuming that with all your years experience that the void isn't a stuffing issue!). It looks like a problem during fermentation. NCPaul?

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby DanMcG » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:31 am

The fact that it's only happening on the exposed ends makes me think it's bacterial thing. More details would help.

Looking at the pic with the sticks in your hand, they look flattened out? Is that how they dried or were they squeezed like that? How much water was added to the mix?
DanMcG
Registered Member

Postby br549 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:10 pm

Thanks for adding me to the forum !!!!

Here is the process for 100 lbs. smokies:
50 lbs. 90% beef trim
50 lbs. 72%-75% pork pics

grinding plate is 3/16 ( Biro grinder)
we double grind all sausages
meat temp at time of mixing is around 38 F