Fat used in sausages

Tips and tecniques on dryng drying, curing etc.

Fat used in sausages

Postby RichDeveau-Maxwell » Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi there; I appreciate this might be a rather simple question, but I am relatively new to the game.

When I go to any of my local butchers for pork 'back fat', they either look at me blankly, or inform me they don't sell it. However, the most helpful of these butchers said he could sell me 'flare' fat. I assume pork fat is essentially the same whichever cut of meat it comes from, even if its texture/toughness varies. Therefore presumably this 'flare' fat would be fine to use in place of 'back' fat?

All advice gratefully received.
RichDeveau-Maxwell
Newly Registered

Postby wheels » Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:09 pm

Welcome RichDeveau-Maxwell,

No, unfortunately there are a number of different types of pork fat: some soft, some hard.

Pork back fat is hard. It's the fat that you get on the edge of a pork chop.

Flare fat is from the inside of the pig and is soft: you make lard from it.

The two are as alike as chalk and cheese.

If the butcher doesn't know this: change your butcher!

Have you tried telling your butcher what you want to do? (For that matter: what do you want to do?) He may be able to help you more if he knows this.

(...and so would I!)

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Re: Fat used in sausages

Postby DiggingDogFarm » Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:14 pm

RichDeveau-Maxwell wrote:Hi there; I appreciate this might be a rather simple question, but I am relatively new to the game.

When I go to any of my local butchers for pork 'back fat', they either look at me blankly, or inform me they don't sell it. However, the most helpful of these butchers said he could sell me 'flare' fat. I assume pork fat is essentially the same whichever cut of meat it comes from, even if its texture/toughness varies. Therefore presumably this 'flare' fat would be fine to use in place of 'back' fat?

All advice gratefully received.