first time cheesemaking

General Cheese making discussion

first time cheesemaking

Postby andrewqld » Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:26 am

Hi guys,
I have been reading these pages for some months and decided to have a go at the Blue Stilton step by step with pics. I had a hard time finding junket tablets as they are not produced in Australia anymore, however some of the ladies that work for the company that manufactured them have started a small cottage industry and sell the product in powdered form, YAY.

This is my first attempt at cheesemaking and I was surprised that the clean break came after only 20 minutes and was even more surprised that the curds went almost all the way to the bottom of the pot, is that normal? or did I use too much Rennet?

I have to say at this point , into my first 30 min rest the curds smell GREAT (another surprise) my hand smells like a dairy :) !.

The curds are starting to sink as I type and I will give a full follow up tomorrow.
Even my teenage kids are finding the process fascinating

Thanks to everyone here for helping me to start this project.

Cheers
Andrew
andrewqld
Registered Member

Postby saucisson » Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:37 am

Sounds good to me although 20 minutes is quite fast.
saucisson
Site Admin

Postby andrewqld » Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:23 pm

My cheeses are now sitting in a sealed tupperware container in the fridge, what is the best temperature to store the cheese at for matureing and mold growth? I am an all grain home brewer and my brewfridge has a seperate thermostat that I can set for whatever temp I like so I will be able to use this for my cheese.

I have 2 x 3 1/2 inch rounds, and I am looking forward to sharing these with my family at Xmas.

Cheers
Andrew
andrewqld
Registered Member

Postby saucisson » Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:46 pm

Ideally you want 7-10C in a RH of 95%. The latter can be achieved by keeping a bowl inverted over the cheese.

Dave
saucisson
Site Admin

Postby andrewqld » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:49 pm