Newbie Salami / Fermentation Question.

Air dried cured Meat Techniques

Newbie Salami / Fermentation Question.

Postby dbaggs » Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:37 pm

Hi.

I'm fairly new to dry curing and have a question for the experts. My first salami was made using a dry salami recipe taken out of the Rytek Kutas book. My chamber is a converted wine cooler with a humidifier.

When fermenting the sausage the temperature was about 76 degrees with a humidity ranging from 85-90%. Because of the low temperature I let the sausage ferment for 2.5 days and then lowered the temperature to 54 degrees with a RH of 74%. I'm really kicking myself for not taking a PH sample but I did not have the equipment to do so. After two weeks the sausage is developing the right powdery white mold and had two tiny spots of green mold which we wiped right away with a vinegar solution. So far it has not reappeared.

Everything looks good but I'm wondering about the low temps for the fermentation and the fact I didn't check the PH. Should I check once the sausage is done? I'm a little worried as the sausage recipe did not use a quick fermenting agent.

What would the experts recommend I do.

Thanks in advance.
DB.
dbaggs
Registered Member

Postby larry » Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:21 pm

Did you happen to watch the color during the fermentation? What can you tell us about that? If it started sort of pink-ish during the mixing/stuffing, and then went to a brownish color before fermentation, and then went back to the pink-red colors during and at the end of fermentation, you probably got the process going as it should. If they stayed brown throughout, and are still brown, the culture may not have taken hold. This is all guesswork, but I base it on my successes and my failures and what I remember about the color during fermentation.