Making Bacon?

Air dried cured Meat Techniques

Making Bacon?

Postby MikeF » Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:33 am

Hi,
I'm looking into trying to make my own bacon for this year, I've never tried before but from looking at the process of making bacon, it doesn't seem too difficult. I do have a few questions I thought I would ask to be clear as to the correct method when making bacon:

- Is it possible to leave the rind on the pork belly or do you have to remove it? I know a place when I buy a slab of bacon that sells with the rind on. Or does the rind on the pork belly have an effect when their being smoked. It looks more rustic looking with the rind. Maybe it helps keep the bacon fresh?

- I'm going to cold smoke the pork belly with Hickory wood chips, How many hours should I smoke them for? Or do I just smoke them until they reach a certain color and firmness?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Thank You
Mike
MikeF
Registered Member

Postby ComradeQ » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:37 am

Hey Mike! There is little difference curing with or without the rind. I have done it both ways and just added another 2 days or so to the rind on cure to be safe. The preference is really over whether you want to eat the rind or not. We just had this discussion elsewhere on this forum, but some people like the added crunch that the rind brings when cooked. I personally find that in order to get the rind crunchy you need to cook the bacon really crispy, something I and many of our British members don't like.

The biggest issue I found with keeping the rind on is with smoke penetration. The side with the rind didn't penetrate very well and was left with a less smokey taste than when I do it rind off. If it comes rind on and you choose to remove it, use the rind for crackling, delicious!