Newbie here

Introductions and chatter

Newbie here

Postby Gill » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:45 pm

Hi

I'm a complete newbie to sausage making but I intend to give it a bash in the very near future. The big obstacle at present is that my kitchen is being refitted by my DIY enthusiast partner, so unfortunately it might be a few months yet before I can even think about making sausages. Anyway, I don't think that's a problem anyone on this forum will be able to help me overcome :roll: :) .

We've got a very good local butcher and I buy most of my meats from him. However, I won't buy his sausages because the skins split whilst cooking. To overcome this, he suggests piercing the skins before starting to cook them :shock: . What causes sausages to split whilst cooking, and how can this be avoided?

Gill
Gill
Registered Member

Postby Paul Kribs » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:58 pm

Welcome Gill

Usually the main cause of skins splitting is moisture content being a little too high. Also, if the heat is too high whilst cooking this will cause the skins to rupture. I would not 'prick' the skins but would cook the sausages in a medium oven in a lightly greased baking tray for about 30 minutes and re-assess the sausages from there.

Whilst waiting for your partner to finish the kitchen you could do no worse than browse this forum so that when you start to make your own sausages, you will have a very good idea of how it all comes together. Then you can go and show your butcher some proper sausages that you don't have to 'prick'. :wink:

Regards, Paul Kribs
Paul Kribs
Registered Member

Postby aris » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:33 pm

Yes - cooking slowly in the oven works - but the more water that is added to a sausage, the more profit for the butcher :-)
aris
Site Admin

Postby sausagemaker » Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:58 pm

Hi Gill

Welcome to the forum, both Paul & Aris are correct in the fact that to much water can causes the casing to split but it could also be attributed to other causes.