I should have introduced myself here first

Introductions and chatter

I should have introduced myself here first

Postby Laripu » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:33 am

....but instead I jumped right in and posted a recipe.

So to make up for it: HI! I'm Larry, but you can called me Laripu. It sounds vaguely Romanian, but think Larry-poo. ;)

I'm an ex- Canadian, now American, living in Tampa for the past 16 years.

I've made 10 batches of sausage, each better than the last, over the last 18 months.

I've made fresh goat cheese (but not for a long time, only about 10 batches. I'm interested in fermenting vegetables, like sauerkraut or kimchi. I've made wine about half a dozen times, but I've been making beer and mead for 23 years. I hope I continue to make sausage for that long.

Lox is easy and fun to make, but in Tampa I can only cold-smoke in winter (which lasts about 5 minutes ).

It appears to me that I can learn a lot on here.
Dort wo man Bücher verbrennt, verbrennt man auch am Ende Menschen. - Heinrich Heine.
Laripu
Registered Member

Re: I should have introduced myself here first

Postby wheels » Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:21 pm

...not to worry, we've enjoyed your posts.

...and welcome!

Phil :lol: :lol: :D :D
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby Big Guy » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:48 pm

Welcome, we have a few things in common, I'm Canadian and winter in Floral city about an hour north of Tampa.
Col. Big Guy
Big Guy
Registered Member

Postby Laripu » Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:56 pm

Big Guy wrote:Welcome, we have a few things in common, I'm Canadian and winter in Floral city about an hour north of Tampa.

Do you make dry or fermented sausages in Floral City? Any mold problems?

I had a friend in Ottawa who was originally from Owen Sound, not far from you. He hadn't spoken to me since I moved to the United States. That's the way it goes sometimes.
Dort wo man Bücher verbrennt, verbrennt man auch am Ende Menschen. - Heinrich Heine.
Laripu
Registered Member