Scottish white pudding recipe.

Introductions and chatter

Scottish white pudding recipe.

Postby Pudden » Thu May 18, 2006 9:51 pm

Hi, I blundered across this site when sourcing pudding skins (hog casings).
I had a browse and found a few references to white puddings and a few suggested recipes. Whatever the recipes produced, they weren't white puddings as I know them.

I have never before, and will probably never again join one of these forums, but I felt driven to defend white puddings as they have been prepared in Scotland for centuries. They are simple and very tasty if done properly.

Here's a recipe I've been using for many years:-

One kilo of oatmeal; coarse is best, but meduim will do: don't use fine.
Add the same bulk of minced beef suet. Don't compact the suet to get the bulk, just shake it to level it in whatever container you are using. If you were to weigh the suet, I guess it would be between 500 and 700 grams
Add the same bulk of minced onion, one tablespoon of salt and a half tablespoon of ground pepper, black or white as you please.
Mix well and fill your skins loosely, tying them off with string at about six inch intervals. Simmer in a large pan of water for about an hour, pricking them occasionaly to prevent them bursting.

These puddings will keep for weeks hung in a cool pantry. Traditionally, they were stored buried in oatmeal, but it's unlikely that many of you will have a kist of meal at home.

They are excellent freshly made, reheated in a pan of water, or added to a stew a few minutes before it is served.

Don't be tempted to reduce the quantity of salt or suet, qiute a bit of both are lost in the cooking. Please don't try to "improve" this recipe until you've tried it as given first.

If you have difficulty in sourcing coarse (pinhead) oatmeal, Holland and Barret, the health food people sell it. It won't be as cheap as supermarket oatmeal, but it is so much better that you might find it worth the extra coppers.