Equipment advice needed

Where to buy, how to use. Stuffers, casings, spices, grinders, etc.

Equipment advice needed

Postby floyd » Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:57 am

Hi i'm new to the sausage game and am considering buying an Electric Mincer FW 2684. What are these like for general mincing and sausage making. I do a lot of shooting and ferreting so have lots of game just waiting to be made into sausages and burgers. Any advice would be most grateful. Cheers FLOYD
floyd
Newly Registered

Postby Paul Kribs » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:18 am

Welcome to the forum floyd

I have been using the FW 2684 for about 6 months or more and have given it quite a workout in that time. It has coped very well indeed. I would advise that it is a good machine to start out with until you decide that sausagemaking is going to be an ongoing hobby, or just general mincing of meat. It also comes with a 'cookie' making facility, which I haven't used as yet. Its only downside, in my opinion, is that it only comes with one size of mincer plate.. but it is a pretty good general plate. Although it comes with a sausage filler, which is adequate, I prefer to use a dedicated stuffer.

Regards, Paul Kribs
Paul Kribs
Registered Member

Postby chase » Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:53 pm

Hia Floyd, Im new to the sausage making game too, I also catch plenty of rabbits and today my FW2684 arrived, although I havent used it yet it looks like it will do the business for bunny burgers & bunny bangers.
chase
Registered Member

Postby Hobbitfeet » Thu Jan 05, 2006 9:10 am

Hi Chase, as rabbit is such a fat-free meat, do you add any extra fat in your recipes? I've been using the FW 2684 for two years or so now and find it ideal for the shorter runs. For the big orders a more professional stuffer is definitely a great help though.
"I would not enter on my list of friends (Though graced with polished manners and fine sense, yet wanting sensibility) the man who needlessly sets foot upon a worm." William Cowper.
Hobbitfeet