Large stuffer question

Where to buy, how to use. Stuffers, casings, spices, grinders, etc.

Large stuffer question

Postby Doctor » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:53 pm

I posted this on a different part of this forum so you may have seen this before.
Hello,
First time on this forum.
I have been making sausage for a few years and just recently purchased a very old air stuffer. It has it's own compressor and holds about 50# of meat.
I've searched for about a week now and cannot find any info on it.
If someone has ever heard of this machine or used one please let me know.
The Randall Air Stuffer by RT Randall and Co. Philadelphia, PA
Is stamped on the casting. It weighs about 500#
Thank you.
I am interested in hearing about your recipes and tecniques.
I do most of my own deer processing. this is how i got into sausage making.
Doctor
Doctor
Registered Member

Postby Lance Yeoh » Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:12 am

Doctor, I think Sausagemaker may be able to help you, he's the one with tonnes of experience in this, most of us here use manual crank stuffers. No where as big as what you mentioned. :oops:
Lance Yeoh
Registered Member

Postby tristar » Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 am

Pokerpete is also a good source of information for commercial equipment, even if he is a grumpy old fart! :D
"Don't be shy, just give it a try!"
Food for The Body and The Soul
tristar
Registered Member

Postby sausagemaker » Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:59 pm

Hi Doctor
Welcome to the forum.
I have just had a look at this on ebay (just as well the pictures are still up), it seems to me it is a piston filler is this correct?.
If so then it is like an early version of a hydraulic filler & should not give you any real problems apart from all that unguarded pieces of belting.
A couple of Questions
Is there any way of adjusting the speed?
Is there any way of switching it on & off whilst standing at the stuffing horn as this could be tricky if you have a burst & the switch in unreachable.