Which Quality Grinder up to £300??

Where to buy, how to use. Stuffers, casings, spices, grinders, etc.

Which Quality Grinder up to £300??

Postby ChickenTurtle » Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:49 pm

HI everyone, I've spent a few days reading various older threads where people are also asking what to buy, but many are going down the route of manual vs electric (I'm 80% certain I'll want electric, although the Tre Spade No.10 Classic in Stainless Steel looks tempting at £97 - a tool for life with nothing to go wrong other than your arm dropping off!)

Other are asking whether the Argos cheapie is better than the Anthony Worrall Thompson cheapie, or the Kenwood attachments better than either.

I'm just starting out with the whole sausage shebang (and intend to make burgers and meatballs also) but I also buy a lot of chicken pieces which we cook up and feed to our dog.

I've decided to go for a semi-commercial grade of machine as even if the sausage and burger thing becomes a bit like 'Soda-Stream' or 'Toasties' and ends up losing its appeal, the chicken I can now grind down & make either 'dog sausages' (out of chicken, not dog!) or just make her little slabs of frozen meat to defrost and feed as & when.

Therefore I intend from the off to be throwing chicken wings, maybe the odd neck etc down the hopper, and need something robust.

I first looked at the so-called commercail ones on ebay which ranghe from 120kg/h, 220kg/h through to the 320kg/h giant. They looked good, heavy (the 320 one is 68kg!!) and seemed to be good value in the auctions, selling for a fraction of the (inflated?) Buy It Now price.

I did a bit of digging around and these machines (TC12, TC22, and TC32 are made by a Chinese company and are obviously not quite what they appear at first glance.

My shortlist seems to be centered around models up to & slightly over £300 and include in order of preference:

Tritacarne No.12 Elegant £282

Inox No.8 Stainless Steel £264