Do I need to sharpen my Slicer Blade?

Where to buy, how to use. Stuffers, casings, spices, grinders, etc.

Do I need to sharpen my Slicer Blade?

Postby markh » Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:52 pm

Having got hooked by the bacon curing/sausage thing, I invested in a relatively old but pukker 10" commercial slicer from ebay - I think I got lucky - �20, reasonably local, only bid (and it small enough to slide out of the way under the cupboards!) :D

Most of the time its fine, although I find it still helps to part freeze the bacon, but it tends to leave slivers of bacon at the edges of the joint, these catch in the gap between blade and guide after only 4-6 slices.

It's fine again if I trim it square. Is this normal or a symptom of a problem? I know some slicers have self sharpening blades - is it true of all of them? As you may guess I have no previous experience with such kit :?

Incidentally, is there a 'recognised' thickness for a slice of bacon or is it purely personal preference? I initially tried 2mm - looked like a 'conmercial' slice but cooked terribly!
Before the Roman came to Rye or out to Severn strode, the rolling English Drunkard made the rolling English road... G.K.Chesterton
markh
Registered Member

Postby Paul Kribs » Thu Aug 18, 2005 6:24 am

markh

�20, I'll say you got lucky getting a 10" slicer for that. I missed out on one that went for �21.05 (buyer collect about 40 miles away). Wife nagged a bit about the room it would take up, how often I would use it etc. I have bid on a few since but no luck yet. I should have gone with my initial instinct.