Japanese knives.

Where to buy, how to use. Stuffers, casings, spices, grinders, etc.

Japanese knives.

Postby JollyJohn » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:32 am

Hi All.

As well as being a sausage maker, I am also a keen woodworker. One of the companies I deal with, supply Japanese saws, and chisels, they now offer a terrific range of cooking knives:
https://www.rutlands.co.uk/knives/kitchen-knives

I'm a Henkels man myself, but thought some of you may be interested.

Cheers, John.
JollyJohn
Registered Member

Postby JollyJohn » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:19 pm

Just had a closer look at some of them, lovely knives.......but 'kin PRICEY!! £365.00 for a general purpose knife!!!
JollyJohn
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:25 pm

You'd be a lot better looking at sausagemaking.org site owner's shop:

http://www.knives.co.uk/

Great knives from Porsche, Haiku, Henkels, Global ... take your pick. You'd also be supporting the guy that provides us with this great forum.

Phil :D :D
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby JollyJohn » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:40 pm

Absolutely Phil. I won't be buying any. The email came with other, woodworking tool offers, it was just the sheer variety that caught my eye, they're almost things of beauty. I wasn't trying to promote the company.

If I were in the market for Japanese knives, I'd go to Franco, good knives (I've read you're review) at highly competitive prices.

John.
JollyJohn
Registered Member

Postby wheels » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:07 pm

You know, if I didn't have the knives I already have - mainly Henckels, I think I'd go for the good old fashioned carbon steel 'proper' Sabatiers. They may not be 'the in thing' but they take some beating.

Phil
wheels
Global Moderator

Postby HKDave » Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:49 am

A very good source for Japanese chef's knives is, unsurprisingly, in Japan: http://japanesechefsknife.com/