salt cod (bacala)

salt cod (bacala)

Postby caruso » Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:35 am

does anybody have a recipi and method for making salted cod? I am feel it resembles lox with out the flushing and brown sugar any help?
caruso
Registered Member

Postby Hobbitfeet » Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:00 pm

I've been making my own salt cod for a few years now, as living in Durham it's pretty hard to find in the shops. I get my local fishmonger to give me the thicker head end of the fish, as the tail end can dry out too quickly. Then, put a centimetre layer of salt in a plastic/earthenware container and place the fish on top. Cover the fish with another layer of salt so it can not be seen and leave in the bottom of the fridge. You can add extra layers of cod and salt if you want. Check the fish after three or four days and pour of any liquid. You can add extra salt if any areas of fish are exposed. The cod will be done when the flesh is firm and no more liquid is produced. Brush off the excess salt and store (can be frozen if needed) It is possible to hang the salted cod in the sun (if you get any!)until really dry, in which case, freezing is unnecessary.

I use salted cod to make the Portuguese cataplana or the Jamaican Ackee and Saltfish or in fritters.
"I would not enter on my list of friends (Though graced with polished manners and fine sense, yet wanting sensibility) the man who needlessly sets foot upon a worm." William Cowper.
Hobbitfeet
Registered Member

Postby aris » Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:10 pm

Strange - my local Tesco sells salt cod. Not cheap either - considering that it used to be peasant/poor peoples food!
aris
Site Admin

Postby Hobbitfeet » Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:45 pm

And as it's so easy to make!
"I would not enter on my list of friends (Though graced with polished manners and fine sense, yet wanting sensibility) the man who needlessly sets foot upon a worm." William Cowper.
Hobbitfeet
Registered Member

Postby caruso » Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:27 am