Cleaning Smokers

Cleaning Smokers

Postby Gordon » Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:06 pm

I'm very new to all this and I have a question.

Do you clean the inside of a smoker or do you just clean the racks / drip tray and stuff leving the walls tarnished ( seasoned ? ) ?

G
Gordon
Registered Member

Postby jenny_haddow » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:44 pm

A good point Gordon, I'd be interested to know that too.

Jen
jenny_haddow
Registered Member

Postby BBQer » Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:14 am

Just clean the racks and drip tray. The "seasoning" on the inside will only improve it.

One thing to be careful of, and of course it depends on the smoker you have, is the coating that forms on the lid or ceiling of the smoker. It can dry to a brown flaky material that can fall on your food as it smokes. If you see it building up and getting flaky just take some crumpled up aluminium foil and give it a light scrubbing (not while you have food underneath, of course. :shock: ) Just on the inside top, don't worry about the rest.
B's 'n Q's
BBQer
Registered Member

Postby jpj » Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:25 am

i would agree with that.
it's very annoying to get soot and/or oils dropping on your stuff
jpj
Registered Member

Postby JimH » Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:12 pm

Hi all, new here but been BBQing for a while. I clean the grates before & after every cook, using a weed burner when things are really bad. I make a habit of seasoning new grates before using them, like you do with cast iron cookware or a new BBQ pit. When I started seasoning the grates I found I had fewer problems with rust and the food gets stuck less often. I completely clean and re-season my horizontal smoker once a year. My WSM only needs cleaning around the lid prompted by the lid becoming stuck fast. :wink:

Jim
JimH
Registered Member

Postby vinner » Sat Mar 31, 2007 4:28 pm

Welcome, JimH. Always a good idea to clean our grills here frequently in the Houston area due to rats, roachesm and "slime in the Ice machine". :shock: